NORTHWESTERN MICHIGAN COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Monday, November 15, 2021 at NMC Hagerty, Room C 715 E. Front Street

CALL TO ORDER—Chair Chris M. Bott called the regular meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Trustees present: Douglas S. Bishop, Chris M. Bott, Rachel A. Johnson, Laura J. Oblinger, Kenneth

E. Warner, Kennard R. Weaver

Trustees absent: None

Also present: Jackie Anderson, Patti Burgess, Vicki Cook, Vince Cornellier, Brian Craig, Diana

Fairbanks, Alicia Ford, Madison Ford, David Grams, Todd Hall, Pamela Horne, Mattias Johnson, Troy Kierczynski, Lynne Moritz, Bill Myers, Andy Robitshek,

Ty Schmidt, Stephen Siciliano, Robbie Teahen, Thomas Webb

REVIEW OF AGENDA—The agenda was accepted as presented.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

Review of Trustee Selection Process--Board Chair Chris Bott reviewed the selection process to be used and thanked all candidates for their interest in the Board of Trustees. The eleven trustee candidates were assigned numbers prior to the meeting that determined the order of presentations. Bott explained that it was a public meeting open to all, but to be fair to all candidates, it would be considerate for candidates to leave the room while other candidates were presenting. All candidates left the room and returned, in turn, to make their presentation.

Candidate Presentations and Clarifying Questions--All candidates had previously provided written answers to a standard set of questions, which were provided to the Board prior to the meeting. All eleven candidates, listed below in presentation order of the drawing, gave brief presentations to the Board as to why they should be selected and addressed any clarifying questions.

- 1. Brian Craig
- 2. Todd Hall
- 3. Madison Ford
- 4. Mattias Johnson
- 5. Ty Schmidt
- 6. Jackie Anderson
- 7. Vince Cornellier
- 8. Pamela Horne
- 9. Andy Robitshek
- 10. David Grams
- 11. Thomas Webb

After candidate presentations, there was a 10 minute break.

PUBLIC INPUT—There was public input offered by Bill Myers.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

Discussion and Verbal Poll for Top Three Candidates

Each trustee shared their top three candidates verbally. Selections were recorded into a polling grid by Lynne Moritz. All six trustees listed Andy Robitshek amongst their top candidates. Pamela Horne and Madison Ford were the next highest selected, having each been selected by three trustees.

Board Appointment-Laura Oblinger made a motion, seconded by Rachel Johnson, that Andy Robitshek be appointed to fill the vacancy on the Northwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees per the Michigan Community College Act. The motion passed with the following roll call vote: Yes--Rachel Johnson, Laura Oblinger, Ken Warner, Doug Bishop, Kennard Weaver, Chris Bott; No--none. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT—The meeting adjourned at 3:33 p.m.

Recorded by Lynne Moritz, Executive Director of the President's Office and Board Operations.

SIGNED	Ching M. Bott	
	Chris M. Bott, Chair	
ATTESTED	Maymett Man	
	Kenneth F. Warner Secretary	4