NMC student is top Michigan community college scholar

TRAVERSE CITY — Alexandra Briggs, a liberal arts student at Northwestern Michigan College, has been named Michigan's 2018 New Century Scholar, the top community college student in the state.

Briggs, 21, of Elk Rapids, will graduate this spring with a degree in liberal arts. She will receive a $2,250 scholarship to continue her education in leadership studies. She is NMC's sixth New Century Scholar since 2004.

Briggs is president of NMC's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international community college honor society, a resident adviser in North Hall and also works on campus in the advising office. She is a NMC Commitment Scholar, one of a cohort of promising, mostly first-generation college students awarded full NMC scholarships while in high school.

“I found such a sense of community here," said Briggs, a 2015 graduate of Elk Rapids High School. “It was the best decision I’ve ever made, going to NMC.”

She is considering moving to Texas and completing her bachelor's degree online

“I kind of want to spread my wings and see what opportunities I can make for myself," said Briggs, who switched from computer information technology to liberal arts while at NMC. “I’m really excited to see where it goes from here.”

Briggs was recognized this week at the All-Michigan Academic Team event in Lansing. She will also be recognized at Phi Theta Kappa's convention in Kansas City in mid-April, and she has been invited to be recognized at the American Association of Community Colleges conference April 28 in Dallas, Texas.

The New Century Scholars Program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation and Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and recognizes outstanding community college students. More than 2,000 students were nominated, two from each community college in the U.S. NMC's second nominee, Shelby Christensen, was named a bronze scholar and receives a $1,000 scholarship. She completed her NMC courses in December and is now enrolled at the University of Michigan.

Previous NMC New Century Scholar winners are Roxanne Scrivener, 2016; Kathy Tahtinen, 2015; Jessica Abfalter, 2013; Nicholeen Frusti, 2005 and Sally Beemon, 2004

Release date: March 16, 2018

For more information:

Kari Kahler
Dean of Learning Services/PTK Adviser
231) 995-1228


Northwestern Michigan College is committed to a policy of equal opportunity for all persons and does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, disability, genetic information, height, weight, marital status or veteran status in employment, educational programs and activities, and admissions. nmc.edu/non-discrimination