Hero image

Calendars & News

Spring training cruise itinerary

Spring training cruise map

Other NMC calendars

Great Lakes Maritime Academy Calendar - 2022/2023

Month

Event

Date

July

Fall Tuition/fees Due (if not deferred)

Tues, July 26

Aug

Welcome Aboard/First Year Cadets Check-In

Thurs, Aug 25

Orientation half day for incoming Cadets

Friday, Aug 26

Start of Fall Semester

Sat, Aug 27

Sep

Labor Day: No Classes

Sat, Sep 3–Mon, Sep 5

 

Advising - Schedule to meet with your faculty advisor prior to registration

Sept & Oct.

Oct

FAFSA Available for following Fall: fafsa.gov

studentaid.gov

FAFSA Help/Completion appointments at NMC

nmc.edu/financial-aid

Registration for Spring/Summer Classes begins

Wed, Oct 19

NMC October Conference - No Classes Day or Evening

Tues, Oct 11

Nov

Mariners Memorial

Thurs, Nov 10

Thanksgiving Holiday: No Classes

5 p.m. Wed, Nov 23–Sun, Nov 27

Prospective Cadets - Early Admission Application Deadline

Tues, Nov 1

Dec

Spring Tuition/fees Due (if not deferred)

Thurs, Dec 1

Semester Ends

Sat, Dec 17

Fire Training Offering 1 - 1st year cadets (Sign ups will be available in the Fall)*

Mon, Dec 19 - Fri, Dec 23

Christmas Holiday - College Closed

Fri, Dec 23–Mon, Dec 26

New Year’s Holiday - College Closed

Noon, Fri Dec 30–Mon, Jan 2

Jan

USCG License Exams: Third Assistant/Third Mate

TBD

Fire Training Offering 2 - 1st year cadets (Sign ups will be available in the Fall)*

Mon, Jan 9 - Fri, Jan 13

Scholarship applications for following year

 Open

Start of Spring Semester

Mon, Jan 16

USCG License Exams - Pilotage (Deck only)

TBD

Feb

Commercial Sea Project paperwork due (annually)

Due by Feb 1

Mar

Advising - Meet with your faculty advisor prior to Fall registration

Before March 8

Registration for Fall semester begins

Wed, Mar 8

Fire Training Offering 3 - 1st year cadets (Sign ups will be available in the Fall)*

Mon, Mar 27–Fri, Mar 31

Spring Break - No Classes (except Fire Training for first year cadets)

Mon, Mar 27–Sun, Apr 2

Apr

Summer Tuition/Fees Due (if not deferred)

Tues, Apr 18

May

Honors Convocation

Fri, May 5

Commencement/Maritime Graduation Ceremony/Classes End

Sat, May 6

T/S State of Michigan - cadet training

Spring Training Cruise Itinerary

Start of Summer Semester

Mon, May 8

Memorial Day Holiday: No Classes

Mon, May 29

Jun

Summer Classes - second session start (8-week session)

Mon, June 12

 

* Fire Training Note: Cadets in NMC housing must make housing arrangements