NMC names NISOD teaching excellence winners

Brandon EverestBrandon Everest
(download high-resolution photo)
Nicole FewinsNicole Fewins
(download high-resolution photo)
Justin GuillardJustin Guillard
(download high-resolution photo)
Scott PowellScott Powell
(download high-resolution photo)
Becca RichardsonBecca Richardson
(download high-resolution photo)
Nicole SpeelmanNicole Speelman
(download high-resolution photo)
TRAVERSE CITY — Six faculty and staff members have been named NMC's recipients of the annual NISOD award for teaching excellence.

Affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin, the National Institute for Staff and Organization Development is committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges.

The awards have been made since 1991. Criteria include professionalism, relationships with students and colleagues, and commitment to learning. Below are NMC’s recipients, with highlights from their nomination or recipient statement.

2024 Recipients:

Brandon Everest, social sciences faculty member for 24 years and co-chair of NMC’s Experiential Learning Institute. His leadership roles reflect a commitment to promoting academic vitality, fostering innovation and continuous improvement.

Nicole Fewins, business faculty member for 23 years. In response to a waiting list for her online classes, Fewins gave face-to-face students the option to attend online. She anticipates students’ needs before any issues even arise. She not only inspires her students but inspires her colleagues.

Justin Guillard, Educational Technologies staff member for eight years. Guillard endeavors to understand and troubleshoot specialty software and is responsive and easy to work with.

Scott Powell, Great Lakes Maritime Academy instructor for 22 years and 1998 GLMA alumnus. Recognized nationally for his expertise with respect to maritime education, Powell is presently pursuing a doctor of education (EdD) degree.

2023 recipients:

Becca Richardson, math faculty member for 10 years and NMC alumna. “By showing (students) the value of hard work and persistence, I can make a difference in their academic success, as well as their future success,” Richardson said.

Nicole Speelman, chemistry faculty member for six years. “I hope to inspire my students to be amazed by the chemical world around them,” Speelman said.

“Teaching is at the heart of the NMC mission,” said President Nick Nissley. “We’re proud to recognize these outstanding educators alongside their peers from around the country.”


Release date: JANUARY 19, 2024

For more information:

Cari Noga
Communications Director
(231) 392-1800 (Call or text)



Northwestern Michigan College does not discriminate in admission, campus activities, education, employment, housing, public accommodation or public service on the basis of age, color, creed, disability, gender identity/expression, handicap, height, marital or familial status, national origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, service in the military, veteran's status, weight, or any other legally protected status under federal, state, or local law. No act of retaliation shall occur to any person making a charge, filing a complaint, testifying or participating in any discrimination investigation or proceeding. nmc.edu/non-discrimination