Public Viewing

Students from the NMC Astronomy Club and the Grand Traverse Astronomical Society (GTAS) host public viewing nights at Rogers Observatory.

The admission fee is $2 per person, or $5 per family.

2019 Public Viewing Schedule:

First Friday of every month

  • Friday, January 4
  • Friday, February 1
  • Friday, March 1
  • Friday, April 5
  • Friday, May 3 and
  • Saturday, May 11 (special viewing)
  • Friday, June 7
  • Friday, July 5
  • NO PUBLIC VIEWINGS IN AUGUST
  • Friday, September 6
  • Friday, October 4
  • Friday, November 1
  • Friday, December 6

* Open viewings are held after each GTAS meeting. The GTAS typically holds a meeting the first Friday of each month, beginning with a board session from 7–8 p.m. followed by a general meeting (usually including a presentation) from 8–9 p.m. The public is invited to attend.


The Rogers Observatory is about five miles south of NMC's main campus, at 1753 Birmley Road.

Contact us »

Custom Directions

For custom driving directions to the Rogers Observatory from Google, enter your street address, city and state below. (The directions will appear in a new browser window.)

"It's a wonderful thing when the community comes out and uses the facility they helped to build."

JERRY DOBEK
NMC ASTRONOMY INSTRUCTOR

Section Navigation Academic Programs
up arrowscroll bardown arrow