Public Viewing

Students from the NMC Astronomy Club and the Grand Traverse Astronomical Society (GTAS) host public viewing nights at Rogers Observatory.

The admission fee is $2 per person, or $5 per family.

2016 public viewing schedule:

  • Friday, January 8, 9–11 p.m. *
    • Note: This is the second Friday due to the holiday.
  • Friday, February 5, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Friday, March 4, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Friday, April 1, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Friday, May 6, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Monday, May 9, 7 a.m.–3 p.m. – Transit of Mercury
    • Note: This viewing will only be held if the skies are clear.
  • Saturday, May 14, 9–11 p.m.
  • Friday, June 3, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Saturday, June 11, 9–11 p.m.
  • Friday, July 1, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Saturday, July 9, 9–11 p.m.
  • Friday, August 5, 9–11 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 27, 9–11 p.m.
  • Friday, September 2, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Saturday, September 10 , 9–11 p.m.
  • Friday, October 7, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Friday, November 4, 9–11 p.m. *
  • Friday, December 2, 9–11 p.m. *

* Open viewings are held after each GTAS meeting. The GTAS typically holds a meeting the first Friday of each month, beginning with a board session from 7–8 p.m. followed by a general meeting (usually including a presentation) from 8–9 p.m. The public is invited to attend.

The Rogers Observatory is about five miles south of NMC's main campus, at 1753 Birmley Road.

Contact us »

Custom Directions

For custom driving directions to the Rogers Observatory from Google, enter your street address, city and state below. (The directions will appear in a new browser window.)

"It's a wonderful thing when the community comes out and uses the facility they helped to build."

JERRY DOBEK
NMC ASTRONOMY INSTRUCTOR

Section Navigation Academic Programs
up arrowscroll bardown arrow