• 2012: Diane Owens, Kathryn Fischer
  • 2010-2011: Stephen Siciliano, Diane Emling, Garyn Roberts, Jane Zlojutro, Linda Rea
  • 2009: Doug Domine, Jeff Straw
  • 2008: Mary Jo Elliott, Keith Overbaugh
  • 2007: Scott Goethals, Bob Rodriguez
  • 2006: Tamella Livengood, Mark Nelson
  • 2005: Stephen Drake, Deirdre Mahoney, Mark Puchala
  • 2003: Caroline Schaefer, Anne Patrick
  • 2002: Tom Auch, Margery Taylor
  • 2001: Michael Emerson, Sherry Howard, Connie Jason, Michael Torre, Linda Walter
  • 2000: Alison Collins, Diane Emling, Tom Gordon, Jim Press, Mary Quinn, Laura Schmidt, Jackie Shinners, Jim Valovick
  • 1999: Lynne Harris, Gary Klotzbach, Ken Marek, Marty Trapp
  • 1998: Joan Berg, Ann Cook, Jill Hinds
  • 1997: Claudia Bailey, Laurie Chesley, William Faulk, Bronwyn Jones, Jean Rokos, Barbara Tatarchuk
  • 1996: Jim Coughlin, Dianne Keelan, Gordon Niemi, Bruce Mann
  • 1995: Richard Cookman, Robert Dederichs, Lucy House, Keith Kelly, Regis McCord, Megan Roberts, Ken Rose, David Terrell
  • 1994: Linda Anderson, Karen Howie, Debra Pharo, Don Rodriguez, Marty Trapp
  • 1993: Sallie Donovan, Kathleen Duncan, Adam Gahn, Bronwyn Jones, Mary Ann Linsell Mary Norris, Robert Rudd, Mary Vanderkolk
  • Prior to 1993: Adam Gahn, Mickey Grooters

NISOD award

About the Award

NMC is one of more than 700 community college members of NISOD, the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development. Affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin, NISOD has made the teaching excellence awards to faculty at member institutions since 1989. Nominees are judged on criteria including commitment to learning, professionalism and relationships with both students and colleagues.

2013 Recipient Statements

Sue DeCamillis
NISOD award winner Sue DeCamillis"It is my desire to ease the administrative burden on faculty and allow them the opportunity to bring creativity and innovation into their classrooms. Encouraging, empowering, and supporting their initiatives is my contribution to the success of students, faculty, and the institution."

Nancy Gray
NISOD award winner Nancy Gray"In Harry Potter, Mad-Eye Moody says to his students, “Constant Vigilance!” That’s what I need. Who’s in my room now? What innovations can I try? What am I missing? The worst thing I can do is let my guard down and miss the opportunity to help students reach their goals."

Kristen Salathiel
NISOD award winner Kristen Salathiel"Maya Angelou said, 'A bird does not sing because it has an answer; it sings because it has a song.' As a developmental writing teacher, my job is to help students find their song, believe in their right to sing it and then help them discover—through writing—how to sing it well."


up arrowscroll bardown arrow